Machine Knitting

I bought the pattern for the Slanted Rib Jacket ages ago as I really liked the shape of it. Then I read the notes and realised that the tension was so small and I didn’t think I had anything suitable in my stash and the yarn used in the pattern is not available in the UK 😦 I put it to one side and forgot about it

Then I saw that somebody had made a lovely version of it on Facebook in the Machine Knitting Group and it sparked my imagination again. The yarn that I wanted to use had also been in my stash for a while, the colour was so perfect but the yarn looked a little unstable and also it was a slightly boucle yarn which might give me problems?!?

As it turned out I found that the yarn knitted beautifully at TD5 on my Knitmaster 360, I liked the fabric but the tension was looser than that stated in the pattern. I decided to knit the second size which was smaller than the size I would normally choose. I knitted all the pieces, only have a few problems with the ribbing at times, in my defence, I hadn’t done much work on the ribber for quite some time. I got caught up on the right hand side a few times but I think I got away with it as I sewed the edge to the cardigan and hid the errors in my stitching…this was for me so a couple of bunched up areas wouldn’t bother me

The colour of this lovely cardigan really made me happy and I couldn’t wait to wear it on our anniversary day out on Monday

We visited Gunby Hall in Lincolnshire, a National Trust property…the house and gardens have such a lovely feel to them, it was a very good day and we both took lots of photos. Thank you Barry for these two photos, it’s not that often that I like myself in photos  I didn’t realise quite how good my cardigan looked but I knew that I was really enjoying wearing it

Sadly the colourway that I used has all sold out, I would definitely buy some more if it comes back into the shop

You can read more info, including a link to the shop that sold me the yarn, on my Ravelry project page

Barry and I are really working hard in the garden and in the room which used to be out dining room but is now our junk room. A wasted space as we have just put everything in there that didn’t have a real home. Emptying it is proving to be an endless task but the results will be worth it. It will become a study and also a home for my knitting machine and all the paraphernalia that entails!

I’d better go and get this day started but I will leave you with some darling little fairy houses that we found at Gunby Hall as we walked around the gardens

fairy house 5

fairy house 5

fairy house 4

fairy house 4

fairy house 2

fairy house 2

fairy house 1

fairy house 1

fairy house 3

fairy house 3

Some lovely fabrics and yarns have arrived and they are really calling to me to get creative with them but I shall have to wait until that room is finished…..!

new stock 1

new stock 1

new stock 2

new stock 2

new stock 3

new stock 3

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in machine knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Machine Knitting

  1. Mavis Dean says:

    Lovely portrait of you Marianne .Love the colour of your new jacket xx

Leave a Reply

