Mini Patchwork Projects and a Giveaway

Beth Studley is a genius in designing wonderful things for me erm us to make..I have made loads of her Storage Pods and a few of her Project Baskets. I am an incessant shower offerer (that sounds wrong) and after showing Beth a few of my makes, the clever designer asked me if I’d test out one of her new patterns. I, of course jumped at the chance! More about that in my next blog post….

In the meantime, Nadine from Stitch Craft and Create emailed me and asked if I would like to take part in a blog hop to promote Beth’s new book, Mini Patchwork Projects. I could feel a smile creeping across my face as I read that email. There was no hesitation in replying with a very definite yes!!

So, Nadine sent me a gorgeous pile of Beth’s new fabric range, Radiance, to play with and make something from the book, you can purchase the fabrics for yourself using this link It was a surprise when the package arrived, I thought I had been bad again and had forgotten what I’d ordered, then it dawned on me haha

 

The colours and design of these fabrics took my breath away, I simply loved every one of them…

I then had to choose something from the book to make using these fabrics, now that was hard!

I decided I might try something that was new to me, Foundation Paper Piecing. It looked fun, and I loved how the process gives you sharp points

The Curvy Coaster Set

I tried it out on some of my own scraps first, there was no way that I was going to cut into the fabrics that I had been sent to try out without doing a trial run first, and also to see if I enjoyed the technique

DSC_1766 copy.jpg

It worked brilliantly well, I was hooked! Beth’s instructions were clear to follow.

I didn’t like how all the threads met in the corner though, I needed to refine my work!

I have that Curvy Coaster on the side table next to me where I like to sit and do my handknitting. I love it, and keep smiling and picking it up and admiring it πŸ™‚

Next I had to decide on which of the Radiance fabrics I would use…I chose the ones that I felt might look good together, that was easy though, they all look good with each other πŸ™‚

I didn’t stress too much over it and just went with my gut instinct

 

Don’t they look fab all together? So much fun to make, if you’ve not tried foundation paper piecing then you’re in for a treat

Then of course, I wanted to make something else and I knew exactly what that was going to be…the very pretty Reversible Trinket Bowl

I was in a hurry to make this one, don’t know why, maybe it was the shaping of it, I know that I love the clever shaping of those Storage Pods so making this pretty dish was going to be a doddle!

Well yes it was a doddle and yes, I made two but can you spot the difference? In my haste I’d misread the instructions which caused me to sew my darts 1/8th of an inch too deep. Do you know what? I love that error, it has made a deeper taller dish, I’ll make more like that and no doubt more of the proper version!…

Sewing the curved top edge needed a bit more concentration but the clever clever way that Beth tells us how to get a really crisp clean edge was a revelation to me πŸ™‚ Maybe I am late to the party and you might know how to do it already but it will be something that I use again and again in my bag making. If you want to learn this magic trick then you might like to buy the book πŸ˜‰ If not the whole book then the individual patterns are all available here and also on Amazon

the difference is more noticeable here

and here lol

DSC_2004 copy

The one above is the perfect one…

Maybe you’d like to own the gorgeous trinket bowl in the above photo? Just leave me a comment telling me which project in the book you like the best and why, and I’ll put all the names into a hat and draw a winner in a week’s time. So Friday 3rd June..who said June? Where is this year going???

You might like to go and read the other blog posts from this blog hop, there’s still more to come so keep checking them out πŸ™‚

Mini Patchwork projects

23rd May – Stitch Craft Create

24th May – Popular Patchwork

25th May – Yellow Cat Quilt Designs

26th May – Strawberry Patch Ramblings

27th May – Picperfic’s Fluff-n-Stuff

30th May – Sew Justine Sew

31st May – Very Kerry Berry

1st June – Very Berry Handmade

2nd June – Guest blog on Stitch Craft Create with Beth Studley

Happy stitching

Marianne

x

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in patchwork and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Mini Patchwork Projects and a Giveaway

  1. I love the bowls best out of all the projects in the book, I can think of so many uses for them! I love Beth’s work but you know that already πŸ˜ƒ

  2. Dianne says:

    I love the bowls you have made, so I will say the bowls.

  3. Robin Crittenden says:

    Those are beautiful. Would l like to win, yes, because you do such beautiful work. And besides I think you are great. Have a great day. I know your love is working his way home. Bet you can’t wait.

  4. Marie Gouge says:

    I would love to own your trinket bowl! It is so beautiful. Your work is gorgeous. This book is on my wishlist after reading your blog posts! I particularly love the curvy coasters and the trinket bowl. They are such beautiful but utterly practical objects. I’d love to have a go at making them myself but I’m a complete beginner when it comes to patchwork. Not sure how successful I’ll be but I look forward to having a go!

  5. Oh my! I did the exact same thing when I made the trinket bowl! But I love it anyway! I think I will have a go at the coaster set next…love to paper piece!

  6. Martina says:

    Oh wow, I love to coasters very much! And I would love to try the bowl pattern. Both are so cute!

  7. Liz says:

    Trinket bowl, love it!

  8. josiekitten says:

    I love the coasters. And I really like Beth’s latest fabric collection. Lucky you to have them all to play with!

  9. Maemi says:

    Such wonderful designs! πŸ˜€ And all the bright and lovely colors ❀ I would like to sew the Curvy coasters, they look so fun. You've sewn the bowls beautifully πŸ™‚ I'll be happy to win one.

  10. Kay says:

    I have never done foundation piecing because it scares the life out of me, but i do love those gorgeous coasters all together. Thank you for a fun giveaway too. x

  11. Vicki H says:

    Your bowls are adorable. I love the mistake you made for the taller one.

  12. Vicki H says:

    I can’t believe tomorrow is June! I would probably make the coasters first and then try the bowl. Yours are so pretty.

  13. Valerie says:

    I loved the curvy coaster. Super design and the colours are so gorgeous.

  14. KB says:

    These are beautiful little pieces of art! I’ve made something similar–not so colourful–with 100% cotton to hold bowls heating in the microwave. Saves owwwies on hot bowls. Lovely work.

  15. Mara says:

    The coasters are gorgeous but I am loving the bowls and need so many of those, for all of my trinkets.

  16. rosa says:

    Beautiful fabrics and projects.The bowls caught my eye so I would love to try it!

  17. asteride says:

    The pincushion is so cute!

  18. Pat says:

    I think the needle case is the one I would try to sew first. It looks easy to make and would be a nice weekend project.

  19. Teresa Barrow says:

    Completely in love with Beth Studley fabrics – ever since I took a class with her – what a lovely patient lady! Now have a stash of Meadow, Henna & Walkabout – Will have to stash Radiance too! Your interpretation of the Trinket Bowl pattern is radiant! As I can’t bear to use all Beth’s beauties in one go for a quilt, her new book sounds great – I’d probably make the notebook case first sizing it up for my laptop! Lucky you for being able to work with her!

Leave a Reply

