Dyeing up A Gradient

Yesterday, I decided it was time to dye up the yarn I had bought for the Carol Feller KAL which is starting on the 18th June

I knew that I wanted pink…

With that in mind, I soaked my 5 x 100g skeins of sport weight yarn, I also added a small squirt of washing up liquid to the tepid water. The yarn was contained in a lingerie laundry bag. My yarn is merino/cashmere/nylon, if there had been silk in the blend then I would have soaked it overnight to get a good saturation…when I was ready I gave the yarns a very short spin in my spin dryer. You really want it to be wet but not dripping wet

Then I brought a really big pan of water to the boil and turned it down to a low simmer setting on my hob. I thought I’d dye up the boldest colour first and put a slightly rounded teaspoon of Landscape dye into the water and swirled it around. Slowly added the yarn making making sure it was all under the water and no air pockets, give it a very gentle move about. Set my timer for 20 mins, came back and lifted it out of the water with a pair of tongs and carefully placed the very hot yarn in a bowl. I left it to cool before I touched it again

I noticed that the water still had a pink tinge to it and I felt it might make a good shade of pale pink, so my next skein was placed in the water and again left for 20 minutes, the water was still slightly pink so I put about a tablespoon of vinegar into the water, stirred it very gently, and very quickly all the colour left the water and I had my perfect pale pink

For the colours in between, I repeated the process but used less dye, I opted for paler than I wanted with the thought that I could add more colour if I needed to

When all the yarns were cool, I rinsed them carefully, inside the lingerie bag, gave them a short spin and put them on the line to dry…it really was the best fun and something that I’ll be repeating again one of these days!

I am totally in love with these colours and can’t wait to start the cardigan…I might just knit a tension swatch!

I’d love to see what you do with this info….come back and tell me won’t you?

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in dyeing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dyeing up A Gradient

  1. josiekitten says:

    Gorgeous! I think you ought to start dyeing yarn as well as fibre!

Leave a Reply

