A Honeycomb Basket

A few weeks ago, I was asked by the clever fabric and project designer Beth Studley, if I would be interested in testing her new design, The Honeycomb Basket…don’t think I hesitated in saying yes!

I’d seen the photo of the one that Beth had made, on her Facebook page…it was love at first sight

Beth very generously sent me the fabric from her new range Radiance, and the stabiliser along with the pattern, I simply couldn’t wait to get started

Having made quite a few of Beth’s Storage Pods, I knew that I would enjoy putting this basket together

Now, this basket…there’s a lot of work in her, not a project that you can whizz through in a couple of hours, but something to take your time over. When I set to making this, I was in fast forward mode as is so often the case with my craftiness. But as I progressed through the steps I found myself really enjoying the rhythmic repetition of the quilting, the sewing, the hand stitching of the binding. It was almost meditative, I really loved doing the quilting, easy wiggly lines, I do love a good wiggle!…I simply had to slow down and do each of the steps with a smile….

There were some interesting moments, lots of squidging and pushing and a bit of tension in my shoulders

You can do the above step by hand but me being me decided I might do it on the machine….might have broken a needle or two and uttered the odd swear word :/

However, all of a sudden I had completed the project, what an achievement!

I truly love this basket and it was well worth the three days that I spent on her, I woke up with a happy heart when I realised that I was going to spend some more time sewing this beauty. I’m hoping that I will get quicker when I make more of them.

I have 2 orders from 2 very patient and lovely customers. I will get on and sew them soon but I have been in Grandma mode and felt the need to sew some little clothes. Mostly stretch knits which are quick and fun to sew. I’ll probably do a blog post on that subject next

The last photo is of the honeycomb basket in situ, it lives beside me and contains everything I need to keep me entertained in the evenings which are usually spent knitting

I do hope that I have encouraged you to go and buy the pattern and have a go yourself, I found the instructions to be clear and concise…let me know if you make one, I’d love to see!

Happy weekend everyone…crafting keeps me sane in these crazy times, how about you?

PS I am teaching a workshop to sew one of Beth’s cute Storage baskets, in Ely at Sew Much To Do on Thursday 30th June.  Great fun was had when I did my first ever proper workshop in Button Up and Stitch in Wisbech, I’m sure the day in Ely will be equally fun 🙂 If you’re interested in going then click the link above for more details xx

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in bags, patchwork, sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Honeycomb Basket

  1. josiekitten says:

    That’s gorgeous, I love the photo of it filled with all your things! Do you think it’s within my sewing capabilities?

    • picperfic says:

      Hi Helen, I don’t know what to say really, it is a fiddly make, you have to do darts and binding and attach a top but to a circular base x 6, and a hexagonal base! When I taught the Storage Pod workshop, everyone found adding the bases the trickiest bit. Even those that have lots of experience don’t like that bit (me!) I would say to you that if you’re up for a challenge then yes, have a go. Beth is approachable if you don’t understand something or you can always ask me😉

Leave a Reply

