A Sale of my Beautiful Handmade Clothes for Babies and Children

Last year, I spent many hours sewing some delightfully exquisite clothes for children and babies. I made them mostly to sell at a summer fair along with my bags

I totally enjoyed making these unique little outfits but they took me longer to make than some of the adults clothing that I sell

I really don’t mind the work, in fact I like nothing better than getting my teeth into an intricate design. The gorgeous results please me no end

I think that the little romper above it my most favourite design of all that I have made, and yet, it is probably the most time consuming

So, I thought these unique and beautifully constructed garments would fly off the rail….they may be small but the hours of work involved in making them, is as much as the hours I spend on sewing complicated dresses for myself , sometimes even more! 🙂

Sadly, I was wrong….

Is it because I have sewn the garments in sizes that don’t fit the children of whoever views them?

Are my prices too high? At these prices I am hardly giving myself any profit at all 😦

Who knows why they don’t sell…it is probably a combination of a lot of things…

I have decided to only sew clothes for children when I am asked. Sewing for my Grandchildren will keep my ‘need to sew cute little things’ urge at bay

In the meantime, I have taken 30% off all the prices of the clothing left in stock, do go and check them out

These clothes have been made with the utmost care using top quality fabrics, if your little darling needs an exclusive outfit to wear to a special occasion then maybe there will be something in my shop that will fit the occasion…

Thank you for reaching this far in my post

Let me know if you can think of a reason why these delightful little garments are still in my possession, I truly wish they were in yours! 😉

You can view the clothes here

Have a lovely weekend xx

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in sewing, shop sale and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Sale of my Beautiful Handmade Clothes for Babies and Children

  1. lucycjurd says:

    These are beautiful, especially the dresses. Sadly my daughter is probably too big (6 years old) but if you have any dresses that are a little bigger I would gladly buy them. I don’t think they are overpriced for the work and skill that goes into making them x

    • picperfic says:

      Thank you Lucy…that is probably the problem. Not the right sizes 🙂 Sadly these are all that I have but I’ll happily make you something for your daughter 😉

  2. These are lovely! As for why they don’t sell, maybe people don’t want to spend the necessary dough on exquisite handmade clothing for kids since they grow out of them so fast? So they prefer cheapo stuff from horrid sweatshops, because they a) don’t care about ethichs, and b) have no appreciation for the craft? And that’s not to mention the more feminist issue of traditional women’s work/crafts being less valued than men’s. We really should just be happy someone wants what we make and not expect to earn a living as well. (Grrrrr)

    • picperfic says:

      Very good point about children growing so fast…I feel that it is probably a combination of lots of factors as to why these clothes haven’t sold. It is a shame as I truly love to sew them. I find that any money that I make just seems to allow me to feed my fabric/yarn habit!

Leave a Reply

