A new dress

This week was meant to be a week of tidying up ready for my three eldest grandchildren coming to stay for just over week. They arrive tomorrow and I have procrastinated about all things tidying up! I blamed it on the heat but I wanted to sew this dress

I managed to get a copy in the UK at one of my favourite fabric shops, Backstitch at Burwash Manor

It’s quite an expensive pattern as patterns go, but I’d been hankering after making it for a few weeks, I knew it wouldn’t be too long before I bought it

On Wednesday, Lesley and I took a trip out to Trumpington Village Hall and found some treasure within. Stitch Fabrics have a pop up shop there once a month…

This is some lovely fabric, not sure of the content but it does have some stretch to it

I’m going to make another one of these dresses that I’m wearing in the photo

I have made that pattern 3 times already, so I know I love it!

I love that photo of Barry and me taken in 2010!!

This lovely fabric was in the remnant pile, it has a few flaws in the printing and a defect across the width which of course I didn’t notice until I’d cut the dress out

I traced off my size

Only 3 pattern pieces…I dislike patterns that don’t have the seam allowances added to the pattern pieces, but this was quite easy and I winged the 3/8″ and just cut around the shapes…I thought that the stretchy fabric could absorb any errors I made int he cutting out

I did get very hot cutting it out on wednesday evening

but on Thursday it was a joy to sew this with the fan wafting at me…it went together like a dream…I’ll make at least one more of these dresses

I love it very much even though the fabric isn’t perfect! Was a lovely trial piece

Scuse my gurning expression…and my no makeup hot head hair do!

Right…I better stop playing on here and go and make a bed or two….I could do with a housemaid!!

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

