Calla Convertible Backpack

I’m off out to Kirsty Allsopp’s Handmade Fair soon and needed a new bag…well, a girl can’t have too many bags eh?

I have a new pair of lightweight trainers so that hopefully my legs won’t be aching before I’ve even got to the place! The venue is Hampton Court Palace and it quite a fiddle to get to. I get the train at Peterborough, travel to King’s Cross, then a tube and then another train. These train prices are so expensive, especially if you don’t want to be restricted by a set train. Took me ages to decide on which ticket to by but after hearing that my friend, Andrea, who is travelling to London from Southampton, was using a rail card, I thought I better look into it. So eventually, I bought myself a railcard, not any old railcard but a flippin’ Senior Railcard! I’m not taking to this being 60 very easily! Using that railcard, I managed to save a third off the price of my ticket price, which means that the railcard has paid for itself already 🙂

Back to the bag…I decided a backpack bag might be useful,so that the weight of everything is more balanced out and will save my knees…grrr at the 6o thing again!

I’d looked at the pattern for the Calla Convertible a few times and I loved the shape of it. I watched the little video about how it gets converted from a bag to a backpack and so I bought the pattern

Choosing fabrics was a bit more tricky, but I had in my stash some cute fabric covered in old fashioned women’s corsetry. I found some contrasting fabrics, the cream fabrics on the outside are from the Walkabout Range by Beth Studley

I cut out all the pieces at home and then started constructing the bag at the sewing group that another friend and I host together. It’s called the Sew & Sews and is a Wisbech U3A group. We had almost a full house yesterday which was lovely and the room was buzzing with chatter 🙂

I love that pleat behind the zip which stops the whole bag from falling wide open and the contents from spilling out

I think I’ll be buying more hardware to make another one or two of these bags for my shop

Now I just need to get a small knitting project sorted so that I can knit on the train journeys

Hope you’re all enjoying the late sunshine…I’m loving it! Long may it last 🙂

PS Hello Dorothy!

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in bags, sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Calla Convertible Backpack

  1. I LOVE your bag. It makes so much sense. Thanks for sharing your project, I’ll have to check out the pattern.

  2. josiekitten says:

    Lovely bag, I hope it came home nice and full!

Leave a Reply

