A Different Handbag

I felt at a loose end, don’t get me wrong, I still had a couple of orders to deal with but it was the day before my sewing group meeting and I needed a small project to work on. What on earth was I going to take with me??
I’d had this pattern for ages and kept coming across it when looking through my PDFs but knew it might be a fiddle to put together, so I just glanced at it and moved on. However, on this occasion I felt that it was time to tackle the beast. It’s not a beast at all haha

The design is by Napkitten and you can find the pattern here or here

The photo above is the work that I completed during my sewing group, I drew lines to follow for the quilting, my Singer Featherweight doesn’t have a quilting bar but this task would have been easier on one of my Janome machines. I wanted the girls at the group to meet my new baby though so drawing the lines wasn’t too much of an ordeal 😉

.

This clever design is not little inside though, it is like one of those Doctor Who bags, you can get quite a lot of stuff in those roomy pockets

It is so easy to keep your contents organised and safe

each of the side pockets have a magnetic snap closure and the wide mouth of the middle pocket closes with a zip

This gorgeous bag was snapped up moments after I showed it on my Facebook Page even before I had thought about whether I wanted to keep it for myself or not

So I did what any compulsive bag sewer might do, I set about making another one just for me!

I don’t make things easy for myself, Harris Tweed, interfacing, quilting weight cotton in multi layers and a bulky firm stabiliser used on the base of the bag really made my little machine have a panic attack. I removed that from the machine and turned the work over and all was well again. I have to say here that one feature on my modern machines that I use a lot, is the extra lift you can do with the presser foot. I had to almost force these bulky layers under the foot of my vintage machine. She sewed it though!!

I love finding fabrics to coordinate with the main fabrics of a bag

I chose a funky teal coloured lining to match the tiny bit of teal in the Kaffe Fassett print

You can see the gorgeous colours of the herringbone tweed in this photo, I love pink and orange together

I’m going to love using my new handbag!

I’ll leave you with some thoughts on the pattern, This is not a beginners design, the instructions had me thinking at times. But if you do as you are told it all comes right in the end. You aren’t told to cut out all the pieces before you start sewing but to cut them out as you need them. I like this logical approach, you don’t end up querying whether you have the right piece. There is some hand sewing involved, just a little bit, it’s quite doable and I love the relaxation of a bit of hand sewing. It is like you have to take a breather from the machine sewing so just go with it and enjoy the moment.  Take your time, follow the instructions and you’ll be fine 🙂

Napkitten has blogged about my bags here

Wonder what I’ll be sewing next?

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in bags, quilting, sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Different Handbag

  1. woollythinker says:

    The fabrics on that orange bag are just glorious – beautifully matched!

  2. Valerie says:

    Ooh, I love that design!! So interesting and unique!

  3. Pingback: Studio Donegal goes funky | Picperfic's Blog

Leave a Reply

