Studio Donegal goes funky

After stitching 3 of those rather gorgeous multi pocketed tweed or quilted handbags I really wanted to sew a different handbag and so I went back to the designer , Napkitten on Craftsy or Etsy, and found this very interesting design. Those handles intrigued me, I just had to give them a go. They didn’t disappoint, truly, I wouldn’t have thought that they needed to be twisted in the way that the designer told me to, but they do, I did as I was told and it worked! I love learning new techniques πŸ™‚

This gorgeous design worked amazingly well in the handwoven tweed from Donegal Studio

If you remember from a previous post, I watched some of this tweed being woven, it is a very precious cloth ❀

Adding to the funky nature of this handbag, I removed the zipper pull from the green zip and added two complimentary zipper pulls in it’s place. It now opens so easily, with either both pulls or just one πŸ™‚

The fabric that I chose for the handles and lining, is from a collection by Cotton + Steel, I am happy with how they tone in with the tweed beautifully

There’s a zipped pocket inside, perfect for your important bits and bobs πŸ˜‰

I love how a patch of the purple fabric encloses and strengthens the ends of the zips

This not to big handbag is slouchy, but not at all floppy. All fabrics have been fully interfaced

I’m just off now to put this in my shop, I have a funny feeling this one might sell quickly….

Marianne
x

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in bags, donegal tweed, sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

