Cathedral Windows

I’ve finished the cushion covers mentioned in the last post and I am more than a bit happy with them

DSC_3079-001

I took the photo of them in the spare bedroom as it is the only place with a tidy space in which to see them clearly. Eventually they will go on our sofas in the sitting room, once the decorating in there is finished

There are errors in the covers, I found it tricky matching up the corners and getting nice tight folded corners. However, I have since found a tutorial for making these windows by sewing seams instead of simply ironing them flat, hopefully a stitched line will crease more positively than just a folded one…I will try again In love

Nearly forgot to show you the pretty backs to the cushions, I also put zips in!

DSC_3084-001

The fabric is  from a Moda collection called Salt Air….gorgeous vintagey feel to the colours Girl

I have chosen the paint after trialling 4 small pots of paint. You wouldn’t think that it would be so important to me to choose the right shades of white would you?

DSC_3076-001

I have chosen beige white for the lower wall and milk white for the upper, both matt finish. All the woodwork will be painted in beige white in a satin finish, the ceiling in pure white

I’ve also got some samples of fabric for the curtains but none of them please me, I’ll keep looking….

I have been sewing some more quilt squares made up of random pale and dark triangles following this tutorial

I am using up fabric scraps and hope that something beautiful will emerge.  The tutorial tells you that it is a study in the degree of lightness and darkness in fabrics, I’m learning…especially as a lot of the fabrics I’m using are not favourites, just bits that are too big to get rid of.

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in decorating, quilting, sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cathedral Windows

  1. these are so brilliant, amazing

  2. josiekitten says:

    Love those cushions, I can’t wait to get going on my sewing machine!

Leave a Reply

