Petal

Une Rose Sur la Lune

I have no idea how I found this blog…maybe pinterest? Who knows!

Anyway, the designs were so neat and beautiful, I immediately tried to find the patterns

There is an etsy shop, and there was just one dress in the shop, which is beautiful but it wasn’t the one that had caught my eye

It was this one

It was the sleeves, the little petals and a button that got my attention…

I contacted the designer and she told me that the Petale design would be in the shop today

So this morning I looked and it was there, so I bought it! 🙂 However, there was a problem, the instructions were all in French! I do understand a little bit of French….I can do this!!

The detailing on this pretty top are so beautiful and such a pleasure to do

There is even piping around the facing on the inside

and the hem…those pleats, I used my ruffler foot to get them so even

There is an alternative design to make out of a knit fabric with the tighter hem to make the top a blouson shape

I managed to work out the instructions by the pictures, but I had started to cut out the pieces when I began to think that they were looking a bit small for the age 10 size that I had chosen

So I went back and managed to work out that we were told not to forget to add seam allowances! I went back and added a SA of 1cm to my pieces, I like that amount…gives me enough to work with but not too little that it frays away if there’s a need to upick 😦

All went well until I went to do the buttonholes, I realised that I had placed the skirt curved opening a bit too near the end of the bodice so the lovely open bit below the buttons isn’t as flat as it could be…next time!!

I can see this pretty top being worn with shorts or cropped trousers on a hot summer’s day…

I’ve got a very busy week ahead of me so my sewing will slow down somewhat, but tomorrow afternoon is my sewing group, so I have to decide on what I’ll be taking with me to work on

There’s that other pattern in that shop…maybe I need that one too?

About picperfic

I dye luxurious fibre blends for spinners and felters, and sew beautiful bags, project bags and needle/hook organisers to a very high standard, using designer fabrics and then I photograph them!
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Petal

  1. crocheticknits says:

    That top is gorgeous, and yes I think you need the other pattern too…

Leave a comment